Read Lovely Books

9 Moving Books Like The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Looking for books like The Book Thief? Keep reading for other books about WWII or books that

A great book for both adult and YA readers, it’s a beautiful and intense book that

If you liked The Book Thief, you might be searching for your next read

If you’ve been searching for books similar to The Book Thief, add these to your TBR!

It’s the kind of book that will make you furious, but only because you’re so

It also manages to capture a country in the middle of destruction and the very human fallout

It’s a medium-paced novel and manages to strike the perfect balance between character and plot

It may leave you an emotional wreck, but it’s an important read and will stay with

Like The Book Thief, this will appeal to both YA and adult readers, although it’s technically

Captured by the Gestapo in Nazi-occupied France, you’ll feel a rollercoaster of emotions as you discover

The plot unfolds in an intricate and deliberate way, giving you small pieces of Verity’s past,

It’s a difficult read at times, but it has humourous moments, and Verity is an excellent

Buy Code Name Verity: Amazon | Book Depository | Blackwells | Waterstones

While it centres around a 9-year-old boy, it’s definitely not for children to read

It’s touching and emotional, and perhaps slightly removed from the reality of concentration camps, but it’

Buy The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas: Amazon | Book Depository | Blackwells | Waterstones

From the storytelling queen herself, The Storyteller follows Sage, a baker dealing with the impact of grief,

It shows, yet again, the many heartbreaking stories from WWII

It’s also an excellent choice for book clubs, as it throws up a lot of interesting

Buy The Storyteller: Amazon | Book Depository | Blackwells | Waterstones

It’s a bestseller for a reason: it’s captivating, unputdownable, and heartfelt

It also follows an orphan, Werner, and his journey through the Hitler Youth

The two stories converge in a clever way, and it’s beautifully written, although the prose is

Buy All The Light We Cannot See: Amazon | Book Depository | Blackwells | Waterstones

Cyril Avery is adopted, and his life is a long journey to find out who he really

It’s an extremely moving, emotional read, and the poignant ending is perfect

It’s a long one at over 500 pages, so if you love a chunky book, this is

Buy The Heart’s Invisible Furies: Amazon | Book Depository | Blackwells | Waterstones

It’s a children’s book, but it’s beautifully written, and the moving story is perfect

The relationship between Ada, Jamie, and Susan (the woman who takes them in) is touching, and there

As you may expect, there are some sad moments, but it’s ultimately an uplifting story about

It’s sensitively written, and just right for the 9-12 age bracket

If you want to know what it was like to live through WWII, there aren’t many

It’s a book that everyone should read, full of heart and real humanity, and it is

Obviously, knowing what happened to Anne makes this an incredibly sad book to read, but her words

Buy Diary of a Young Girl: Amazon | Book Depository | Blackwells | Waterstones

It follows Lale Sokolov, a Jewish man, forced to tattoo other prisoners

It’s also not too graphic or brutal, making it a good read for teens if they

It’s a truly touching story of love and human perseverance

Buy The Tattooist of Auschwitz: Amazon | Book Depository | Blackwells | Waterstones

When she’s not writing about books, videogames, and pop culture, she’s running around after her